Wonder Journals as Research Tool

Here’s another great activity I think I might adapt to my teacher research course, again from an elementary school teacher: the Wonder Journal.

The wonder journal is exactly the format I would like to encourage in teacher researchers as a research journal. It’s well aligned with the qualitative research ethos of ongoing analysis of data and of the researcher as instrument of data collection and analysis. I see it working in my class as a place where teacher learners can first begin reflecting on research topics and questions, then move into reflections on how they will investigate their chosen questions, and all along how they are understanding their data. The great thing about keeping such a journal is that the writing can often be copied and pasted directly into research reports–thus fulfilling the grad student’s dream of “double dipping.”

I see blogs as an ideal format for Wonder Journals for teacher researchers, where they can share their musings publicly and get responses from their classmates, colleagues, and the general public. They can also provide an impetus for discussion of how to report data while protecting student privacy: At what point do researchers need to select pseudonyms for their participants? How much detail can we give about our students without risking that someone will recognize them? What information is important to understanding the data, and what is nice but extraneous detail?

2 Comments

Filed under Teacher Education, Teacher Research, Teaching Online

2 responses to “Wonder Journals as Research Tool

  1. This is a great idea! I took a look at Wonderopolis (http://wonderopolis.org/) and it looks like an interesting tool.

  2. Thanks for your post. I am experimenting with keeping my researcher journal as a blog for my dissertation, and I found your comments helpful. I was telling myself it is time well-spent, and your statement about “double-dipping” reinforced that idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

